# Lock blocks to prevent accidental edits

[Canonical article](https://slides.com/docs/locking-content-blocks)

Content blocks can be locked to prevent accidental edits. A locked block can&#39;t be:

- Moved
- Resized
- Selected with drag selection
- Selected with keyboard shortcuts, such as &lt;kbd&gt;⌘ A&lt;/kbd&gt; on macOS or &lt;kbd&gt;Ctrl A&lt;/kbd&gt; on Windows
- Deleted with keyboard shortcuts

To lock a block, select it and click the **Lock** icon in the toolbar. You can also press &lt;kbd&gt;⌘ L&lt;/kbd&gt; on macOS or &lt;kbd&gt;Ctrl L&lt;/kbd&gt; on Windows.

For other selection, movement, and editing controls, see [Working with blocks](/docs/working-with-blocks).

&lt;video src=&quot;https://static.slid.es/help/locking-content-blocks/locking-layers-afe67d50.mp4&quot; width=&quot;1280&quot; height=&quot;720&quot; preload=&quot;metadata&quot; autoplay muted playsinline loop controls&gt;&lt;/video&gt;


## Access locked blocks through Layers

Locked blocks are still accessible through the [Layers panel](/docs/layers-panel). Click **Layers** in the editor&#39;s right sidebar, then click a layer to select its block—even when it is locked.

To unlock a block, hover over its layer and click **Unlock block** (the lock icon). You can then move, resize, and edit it again. The close-up below shows the lock and visibility controls beside a layer:

&lt;img src=&quot;https://static.slid.es/help/layers-panel/layers-hidden-5da84524.png&quot; alt=&quot;Close-up of the Layers panel showing the lock and visibility controls beside the Warranty group&quot; width=&quot;1754&quot; height=&quot;1332&quot;&gt;
